Uganda 1-0 South Sudan: Cranes etch closer to AFCON 2021 qualification

AFCON 2021 Qualifiers (Group B):

Uganda Cranes 1-0 South Sudan

Burkina Faso 3-1 Malawi

Uganda Cranes is 90 minutes away from qualification to the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) tournament that will be staged in Cameroon come 2022.

The feat follows a hard fought 1-0 win over minnows South Sudan at the St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende.

Defender Halid Lwaliwa scored the lone strike of the game played under closed doors because of the restrictions from CAF and Government due to COVID-19 pandemic.

Lwaliwa who plies his trade with Uganda Premier League reigning champions Vipers had moments earlier replaced Swedish based defender Ronald Mukiibi Ddungu after the latter picked up an ham-string injury.

South Sudan’s David Sebit Omot shoots as Khalid Aucho blocks

“We expected a similar challenge like we got against South Sudan. But we were focused to break down the resilience” Johnathan McKinstry, head coach of Uganda Cranes stated.

There was a debut moment for right back Elvis Bwomono who features at South End United in United Kingdom.

Bwomono was prefered ahead of Nicholas Wakiro Wadada.

Other junior players introduced included Allan Okello, Karim Watambala and Edrisa Lubega.

The return leg will be played at the Nyayo National Stadium, Nairobi on Monday, 16th November 2020.

Nyayo was picked by South Sudan because the Juba National Stadium is unavailable since it is still under construction.

Uganda Cranes XI

Uganda Cranes XI: Denis Onyango (18), Elvis Bwomono (06), Joseph Ochaya (02), Ronald Mukiibi (12), Timothy Denis Awany (03), Mike Azira (23), Khalid Aucho (08), Faruku Miya (17), William Kizito Luwagga (10), Derrick Nsibambi (11), Emmanuel Arnold Okwi (07)

Substitutes: Jamal Salim (19), Charles Lukwago (01), Nicholas Wadada (14), Disan Galiwango, Patrick Mbowa (24), Halid Lwaliwa (15), Shafiq Kagimu (13), Karim Watambala (25), Allan Okello (20), Edrisa Lubega (22), Brian Ahebwa (16), Fahad Bayo (09)

South Sudan XI

South Sudan XI: Ramadan John Mayik Diing (1), Abdulkarim Yom Mutwakil (29), Peter Maker Manyang (4), Rehan Angier Malong (14), Manyumom Achol (8), Jackson Morgan Odebe (16), Ivan Wani Adebo (7), David Sebit Omot (17), Tito Okello Odong (10), Makueth  Wol Akeen Nguet (22), Stephen Pawaar Lony (25)

Substitutes:  Godfrey Nyeko Okello (3), Abdalla Asad Musa (24), John Kuol Chol (15), Kenjok Wal Athiu (9), Dominic Abul Pretino (11), Joseph Kuch Nyuar Atak (12), Dominic Angelo Kornelio Aroma (6), Bak Majok Nyang (2), Majak Maling Mawith (23 – Goalkeeper), Denis Yongure Daluri (20), Aluck Akech Mabior (19)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *