Basketball: Mayienga officially joins JKL Dolphins as head coach

JKL Dolphins Sports Club has bolstered their technical department with the addition of George “Mayeyo” Mayienga as head coach.

The announcement was made via the club’s official social media platforms.

“JKL Dolphins Sports Club officially welcomes Coach George Mayienga, aka “Coach Mayeyo” to the JKL Dolphins franchise as head Coach” club statement.

He joins JKL Dolphins Basketball from Laiser Hill Academy (Nairobi – Kenya) where he has been the head coach for the last twelve seasons.

Mayienga comes forth with a wealth of experience that will be a great boost to the club.

George “Mayeyo” Mayienga brings a wealth of experience to JKL Dolphins.

He has handled a number of players at Laiser Hill Academy team that are now household names in the Uganda national basketball league (FUBA) as Sudi Ulanga (UCU Canon, Betway Power, KIU Titans), Isaiah Ater (UCU Canons), Fadhili Chuma (UCU Canons), Cynthia Irankunda (KCCA Leopards), among others.


He will be assisted by a number of coaches as; Henry Malinga, Kadipa Kabantu, John Balwigaire and Brian Namake.

JKL Dolphins in action last season (Credit: Stoneshotit)


Africa Club Women Championship Trophy

USIU Ladies

  • 5th out of 12 (2013 – Morocco)
  • 6th out of 12 (2014 – Tunisia)
  • 5th out of 12 (2015 – Angola)
  • 10th out of 12 (2016 – Mozambique)

Zone V Women Preliminaries Championship:

USIU Ladies:

  • 1st Runners – Up (2013 – Dar, Tanzania)
  • Champions (2015 – Dar, Tanzania)
  • 1st Runners – Up (2016 – Dar, Tanzania)

Kenya Women Basketball League

USIU Ladies:

  • 2nd Runners-up (2012)
  • 1st Runners-up (2013)
  • 2nd Runners-up (2014)
  • Champions (2015)
  • Champions (2016)

*Best Coach in 2013 Women’s Basketball Premier League

Mayeyo’s East Africa School Games

  • Laiser Hill Academy (Nairobi, Kenya)
  • Champions (2009) – Men
  • Champions (2009) – Ladies

National School Games

Laiser Hill Academy Ladies (Nairobi, Kenya)

  • Champions (2008)
  • Champions (2009)
  • Champions (2017)
  • Champions (2018)
  • Champions (2019)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *